Call for nominations

Alton E. Bailey Award

The North Central Section of AOCS is requesting written nominations from Society members for the 1978-79 Alton E. Bailey Award. The purpose of the Bailey Award is to recognize research and/or service in the field of fats and oils. The nomination should contain at least five pertinent references or contributions in the field of oils, fats, waxes, etc. Some of the past Bailey Award winners are: V.C. Mehlenbacher (1959), R.H. Potts (1960), J.C. Cowan (1961), A.R. Baldwin (1963), T.P. Hilditch (1965), D. Swern (1966), W.O. Lundberg (1967), H.J. Dutton (1968), H.S. Olcott (1969), H.E. Carter (1970), J.F. Mead (1971), R.T. Holman, (1972), C.M. Gooding (1973), S.S. Chang (1974), W.M. Cochran (1975), Raymond Reiser (1976), L.A. Goldblatt (1977), O.S. Privett (1978), R.O. Feuge (1979).

Please send nominations to the Alton E. Bailey Award Chaiman, Vern Witte, Research & Development, Kraft, Inc., 801 Waukegan Rd., Glenview, IL 60025. The deadline for nominations is December 15, 1979, and notification of the selection will appear in this journal. The presentation of the Bailey Award is scheduled for February 1980.

Deadline: December 15, 1979

Call for nominations

1980 Honored Student Awards

Nominations are now being solicited for the 1980 AOCS Honored Student Awards. Graduate students at any North American institution of higher learning, in any area of science dealing with fats and lipids, who are doing research toward an advanced degree, and who are interested in the areas of science and technology fostered by this Society, are eligible. To receive the award, he/she must remain a registered graduate student and must not have received his/her degree or begun career employment prior to the AOCS meeting he/she is to attend. Selection of awardees is based upon educational qualifications and performance.

The awards provide funds equal to travel costs, plus an additional stipend to permit attendance at the national meeting of the AOCS to be held in New York on April 27-May 1, 1980.

Nomination forms may be obtained from AOCS Headquarters, 508 S. Sixth St., Champaign, IL 61820.

Deadline: October 20, 1979

Award in Lipid Chemistry

In April 1964, the Governing Board of the American Oil Chemists' Society established an Award in Lipid Chemistry under the sponsorship of the Applied Science Laboratories, Inc., State College, PA. Previous awards were presented as follows: Erich Baer, August 1964; Ernest Klenk, October 1965; H.E. Carter, October 1966; Sune Bergstrom, October 1967; Daniel Swern, October 1968; H.J. Dutton, October 1969; E.P. Kennedy, September 1970; E.S. Lutton, October 1971; A.T. James, September 1972; F.D. Gunstone, September 1973; P.K. Stumpf, September 1974; W.O. Lundberg. September 1975; George Popjak, May 1977; Ralph Holman, May 1978; and Stephen S. Chang, 1979.

The award consists of \$2500 accompanied by an appropriate certificate. It is planned that the sixteenth award will be presented at the AOCS Annual Meeting in New York, April 27-May 1, 1980.

Canvassing Committee Appointees

Policies and procedures governing the selection of award winners have been set by the AOCS Governing Board. An Award Nomination Canvassing Committee is appointed; chairman is Earl G. Hammond. The function of this committee is to solicit nominations for the sixteenth award. Selection of the award winner will be made by the Award Committee whose membership will remain anonymous.

Rules

The rules prescribe that nominees will have been responsible for the accomplishment of original research in lipid chemistry and must have presented the results thereof through publication of technical papers of high quality. Preference will be given to individuals who are actively associated with research in lipid chemistry and who have made fundamental discoveries that affect a large segment of the lipid field. For award purposes, the term "lipid chemistry" is considered to embrace all aspects of the chemistry and biochemistry of fatty acids, of naturally occurring and synthetic compounds and derivatives of fatty acids, and of compounds that are related to fatty acids metabolically or occur naturally in close association with fatty acids or derivatives thereof. The award will be made without regard for national origin, race, color, creed, or sex.

Letters of nomination together with supporting documents must be submitted in octuplicate to Earl G. Hammond, Department of Food Technology, Iowa State University, Ames, IA 50010, USA, before the deadline of November 1, 1979. The supporting documents will consist of professional biographical data, including a summary of the nominee's research accomplishments, a list of his publications, the degrees he holds, together with the names of the granting institutions, and the positions held during his professional career. There is no requirement that either the nominator or the nominee be a member of the American Oil Chemists' Society. In addition, letters from at least three other scientists supporting the nomination must be submitted in octuplicate.

Remember the deadline: November 1, 1979